How does the accounting export work?

Modified on Thu, 29 Feb 2024 at 10:40 AM

The accounting export is available to users with the roles Owner, Admin and Accountant to prepare, manage and export transactions for accounting purposes.

 

The workflow consists of three steps:

Not exported: Displays all card transactions with the status "Booked". The tab is used to prepare the transaction data for export. Users can assign subcategories (corresponding G/L account numbers), VAT rates (VAT codes), projects (cost units) and teams (cost centers) to the transactions. 

Export list: Transactions from the Not exported tab are transferred here. This view is used for the preselection of transactions. If a transaction is moved to this tab, it is locked in other places in the system and can no longer be changed. For example, users can no longer add receipts, change subcategories or assign VAT rates. Selected transactions can be exported in the desired format.

Exported: The transactions that have already been exported are displayed here. Once a transaction has been exported, it can no longer be edited by the user. However, transactions can be exported again. The transactions cannot be moved back to the export list from this tab.

Important note: Please ensure that all required data fields have been configured correctly under Settings > Accounting before using the accounting export.

 

Posting date  

Only confirmed transactions are displayed in the accounting export and sorted by booking date.

Important note: There are three dates in the system:

  • Transaction date: The date on which the transaction was carried out.
  • Booking date: Confirmation of the transaction by Visa.
  • Settlement date: The date on which the transaction amount is debited from your account with Pliant.

 

 

Not exported

This view is used to prepare the card transactions for export to accounting. The information relevant for pre-accounting is displayed in the corresponding columns on this page. The individual transactions can be pre-assigned on this page. You can upload receipts and/or assign subcategories, VAT rates, project and team information to the transactions.

Once you have pre-assigned the data by assigning the required values, you can move it to the next tab by selecting the transactions and clicking the Add to export list button. The system will show you a warning message if information is missing for the selected transactions.

 

A typical workflow could look like this:

  1. Fill in the missing information on subcategory, VAT rate, project and teams on the Not exported page.
  2. Add documents to the transactions.
  3. Select the transactions you want to block and add to the export list.
  4. Click on the Add to export list button.

 

Export list

On the Export list tab, transactions are moved to a kind of waiting list. The transactions are thus locked and can no longer be edited by all users on the transaction page, for example (not even by those who have carried out the action). This lock status prevents the same transaction from being inadvertently processed by different users. 

In principle, you can clean up or change the data on the previous page and transfer it here from time to time (e.g. daily) and then export it all at the same time (e.g. monthly) to an accounting system.


Export transactions for accounting:

  1. Select the transactions you want to export.
  2. Click on the Export selected button
  3. Configure the export and click Start export.

 

 

 

Important: The system checks for possible inconsistencies and displays warning messages. These can either be rectified or ignored.

 

Ein Bild, das Text, Screenshot, Schrift enthält.

Automatisch generierte Beschreibung

 

Move transactions back to the Not exported step (and thus make it editable again for other users):

 

  1. Select the transactions you want to move back to the previous step.
  2. Click on the Remove from export list button.
  3. The transactions are moved to the Not exported page and can now be edited.

 

Exported

The Exported tab contains the transactions that have been exported for the accounting system. A transaction in this step cannot be moved to the previous steps, but can be exported again at any time. 

By checking the Export Date/Export ID column, you can see which transactions have been exported together. If the transactions have the same export ID, this means that they were exported together.


Export transaction data again

  1. Select the desired transactions.
  2. Click Re-export at the top right.
  3. Select the file format in the dialog box.
  4. Confirm by clicking on Create export files.




Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article